Poet, Writer and Lyricist

Mr. Javed Akhtar

Mr. Javed Akhtar to receive the Padmapani Lifetime Achievement Award

An annual celebration of unique films from around India and the world, the 9th Ajanta-Ellora Film Festival (AIFF 2024) is going to be held from January 3 to 7, 2024 at Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar. This year, the most prestigious honour of the festival – the Padmapani, Lifetime Achievement Award will be conferred upon the renowned poet, lyricist and screen writer, Javed Akhtar for his invaluable contributions to the Indian cinema. The declaration was made here today by Mr. Nandkishor Kagliwal, Chairman, AIFF organizing committee and Chief Mentor, Mr. Ankushrao Kadam. The Padmapani Award Selection Committee consisting of renowned film director, Girish Kasaravalli, renowned Hindi poet Mr. Ashok Vajpeyi and famous film critic, Ms. Latika Padgaonkar, Festival Director Ashok Rane and film director, Chandrakant Kulkarni. The award comprises a Padmapani Memento, a letter of honour and monetary reward of rupees two lakhs.


The Padmapani Lifetime Achievement Award will be conferred upon Mr. Javed Akhtar during the opening ceremony of the festival on Wednesday, January 3, 2024 at 7.00 PM at Rukmini Auditorium, MGM University Campus, Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar. The ceremony will take place in the gracious presence of various national and international artists, eminent personalities from different walks of life and film lovers.


Javed Akhtar, known as the magician of words in Hindi cinema, has carved a unique place of his own through his memorable songs, ghazals, films, music and screenplays. He along with screenwriter Salim Khan has written the scripts of some of the Bollywood’s most iconic movies such as Sholay, Zanjeer and Deewar. Mr. Javed Akhtar was honoured with India’s fourth highest civilian award, Padma Shri in 1999. He has also won the National award for ‘Best Lyricist’ five times and Filmfare award for ‘Best Lyricist’ seven times. He was honoured with the Richard Dawkins Award in 2020 for promoting democracy and progressive thinking.

Padmapani Award 2024-25: Selection Committee

This website stores cookies on your computer. Cookie Policy